arrow_back

Nevers / Sancoins Via Allier

38,56 Km
2 h 34 min
I begin / Family
Nevers
Sancoins
Your journey along the Via Allier cycle route begins in the ducal city of Nevers. You’re led across the Loire, following its parallel canal (canal latéral) to Le Guétin canal-bridge, taking you over the Allier River. At the natural site of Le Bec d’Allier, admire how the waters of Allier and Loire merge. Cycling a little further, you reach Apremont-sur-Allier, a member of the association Les Plus Beaux Villages de France. This place, dominated by a château with floral gardens awarded the national accreditation of a Jardin Remarquable, provides a Romantic stop! Before the small town of Sancoins, La Halle de Grossouvre and its Espace Métal recall the area’s iron-forging past.

Elevation of the stage

136 m 138 m

Waytypes of the stage

By road: 21,52 km Cycle path: 17,04 km

Surface of the stage

Lisse: 24,29 km Rugueux: 14,09 km Inconnu: 0,18 km

The Via Allier cycle route from Nevers to Sancoins

From Nevers town centre, you need to cross the Loire to get on to the Via Allier, which joins a section of the longer Loire à Vélo cycle route for the first few kilometres. After crossing Nevers’s bridge over the Loire, you cycle alongside the port and then a connecting canal to reach the link to the Canal Latéral à la Loire, where you can get onto the Loire à Vélo/EuroVelo 6 cycle route. Take the direction of Cuffy / Bec d’Allier. Immediately after crossing Le Guétin’s canal-bridge, you leave the Loire à Vélo, the Via Allier leading you towards Apremont-sur-Allier, as you continue along the towpath beside the Canal Latéral. After Apremont, the route takes you along quiet roads to La Chapelle Hugon, Grossouvre and Sancoins. Be careful crossing the D920 road (at Grossouvre) and the D2076 (at Sancoins). Note that these country roads can sometimes be muddy because of the farm vehicles using them.

Don’t miss

  • Nevers: the historic centre of this ducal city, awarded Ville d'Art et d'Histoire status for its rich cultural heritage, which included becoming a major French porcelain centre in the 17th century.
  • Pont canal du Guétin: this major stone canal-bridge boasts 18 arches crossing the Allier River, while the Canal Latéral à la Loire runs along the top of it!
  • Bec d'Allier: an exceptionally beautiful natural spot where Allier and Loire Rivers merge. The area provides a sanctuary for rare and endangered fauna, with beavers and migrating birds living side by side.
  • La Tour Sully in Cuffy: a fortified stronghold dating from the 12th to the 15th centuries, with significant vestiges of the outer walls, the keep and several towers. 
  • Apremont-sur-Allier: at the heart of this listed medieval village, also a member of the association Les Plus Beaux Villages de France, the Parc Floral includes both an arboretum and a botanical garden, visitors able to admire over 1,500 varieties of plants.
  • La Halle de Grossouvre: a former coal yard storage facility turned visitor centre dedicated to the discovery of the history of the iron works in these parts, notably with its museum, the Espace Métal

Railway stations

Did you like this?

You may also be interested in this...

Travellers’ reviews

on Nevers / Sancoins
Ratings from internet users (0) 0,0
Options & keys
Caption
Cycle path
Links
By road
Alternatives
Mountain bike itinerary
Provisional itinerary

arrow_back

Nevers / Sancoins Via Allier

38,56 Km
2 h 34 min
Je débute / En famille
Nevers
Sancoins
Votre voyage à vélo sur la Via Allier débute à la cité ducale de Nevers. Vous traversez la Loire en suivant son canal latéral jusqu’au pont canal du Guétin qui enjambe la rivière Allier. Le site naturel du Bec d’Allier permet de contempler le mariage des eaux de la Loire et de l'Allier. Quelques coups de pédales plus loin vous entraînent à Apremont-sur-Allier. Ce « Plus Beaux Villages de France » est la parenthèse poétique de cette étape avec son Château et son Parc Floral, labellisé « Jardin Remarquable ». Avant d'arriver à Sancoins, La Halle de Grossouvre et son Espace Métal évoquent le passé métallurgique de la région.

Dénivelé de l'étape

136 m 138 m

Aménagements de l'étape

Sur route: 21,52 km Voie cyclable: 17,04 km

Revêtement de l'étape

Rugueux: 14,09 km Lisse: 24,29 km Inconnu: 0,18 km

L'itinéraire de la Via Allier de Nevers à Sancoins 

Du centre de Nevers, il faut traverser la Loire pour rejoindre la Via Allier et La Loire à Vélo qui font route commune sur ces premiers kilomètres. Après le pont sur la Loire, vous longez le port et le canal d'embranchement jusqu'à la connexion avec le canal latéral où vous retrouvez l'itinéraire de La Loire à Vélo/EuroVelo 6. Suivre la direction de Cuffy / Bec d’Allier. Tout de suite après la traversée du pont canal du Guétin, vous quittez La Loire à Vélo et poursuivez sur la Via Allier en direction d'Apremont-sur-Allier toujours sur le halage du canal latéral. Après Apremont, le parcours emprunte de petites routes vers La Chapelle Hugon, Grossouvre puis Sancoins. Prudence lors des traversées de la D920 (Grossouvre) et D2076 (Sancoins). Routes parfois boueuses car empruntées par des engins agricoles.

À ne pas manquer

  • Nevers : cité ducale, ville d'art et d'histoire, capitale de la faïence au XVIIe siècle.
  • Pont canal du Guétin : ouvrage d'art en pierre constitué de 18 arches qui enjambe la rivière Allier et sur lequel coule le canal latéral à la Loire.
  • Bec d'Allier : lieu naturel de toute beauté où la Loire et l'Allier se rejoignent. Sanctuaire d'une faune rare et fragile, où castors et oiseaux migrateurs se côtoient.
  • La Tour Sully à Cuffy : enceinte fortifiée du XII au XVème siècle, où subsistent d'importants vestiges des Courtines, du Donjon et de plusieurs Tours.
  • Apremont-sur-Allier : se présente comme un vaste écrin au coeur d’un village médiéval classé parmi “Les plus beaux villages de France”. Arboretum et jardin botanique, il offre aux visiteurs  plus de 1500 espèces de plantes.                                                           
  • La Halle de Grossouvre :  ancienne halle à charbon, réhabilitée en un lieu dédié à la découverte de l'histoire du fer avec son musée Espace Métal.

Gares SNCF

Vous avez aimé ?

Vous aimerez sûrement ça aussi...

L'avis des voyageurs

sur Nevers / Sancoins
Note des internautes (0) 0,0
Options & légendes
Légende
Voie cyclable
Liaisons
Sur route
Alternatives
Parcours VTT
Parcours provisoire